Matriculation Certificate | What is Matriculation Certificate? State Boards

Matriculation Certificate: A Matriculation certificate is a certificate that is awarded for matriculation – which is the formal process for completing class 10. The exam conducted at the end of these classes is also called matriculation exams or board exams. The term “Matriculation” and “Matriculation Exam”  can be traced back to the days of the British rule. Even the term “Intermediate Exam” was introduced during this era. However, Britain now follows O-Level or Ordinary Level Exams (also called GCSE) and A-Level or Advanced Level exams.

In India, the standard medium of instruction for matriculation exams in English. However, regional languages are an option for science as well as maths. Most students who clear this exam will continue onto classes 11 and 12 or highschool. At the time of matriculation, most students are between 15-16 years old.  These class 10 exams are conducted by CBSE, CISCE and the respective boards of each state. Please note that the later – CBSE and ICSE conducts the exam at the national level like state boards conduct matriculation at the state-level. We shall explore more of these boards in detail.

Matriculation Certificate Boards

In India, matriculation certificates are issued by the following boards:

  • CBSE – Central Board of Secondary Education
  • IGCSE – International General Certificate of Secondary Education
  • CISCE – Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations

State Boards of Respective States

  • Andhra Pradesh – Board of Secondary Education of Andhra Pradesh (BSEAP)
  • Assam – Assam Higher Secondary Education Council (AHSEC)
  • Bihar – Bihar School Examination Board (BSEB)
  • Chhattisgarh – Chhattisgarh Board of Secondary Education (CGBSE)
  • Goa – Goa Board of Secondary & Higher Secondary Education (GBSHSE)
  • Gujarat – Gujarat Secondary and Higher Secondary Education Board (GSEB)
  • Haryana – Haryana Board of School Education (HBSE)
  • Himachal Pradesh – Himachal Pradesh Board Of School Education (HPBOSE)
  • Jammu and Kashmir – Jammu and Kashmir State Board of School Education (JKBOSE)
  • Jharkhand – Jharkhand Academic Council (JAC)
  • Karnataka – Karnataka Secondary Education Examination Board (KSEEB)
  • Kerala – Kerala Board Of Public Examinations (KBPE)
  • Madhya Pradesh – Madhya Pradesh Board of Secondary Education (MPBSE)
  • Maharashtra – Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education (MSBSHSE)
  • Manipur – Board of Secondary Education, Manipur (BSEM)
  • Meghalaya – Meghalaya Board Of School Education (MBOSE)
  • Mizoram – Mizoram Board of School Education (MBSE)
  • Nagaland – Nagaland Board of School Education (NBSE)
  • Odisha – Board of Secondary Education Odisha (BSE Odisha)
  • Punjab – Punjab School Education Board (PSEB)
  • Rajasthan – Board of Secondary Education, Rajasthan (RBSE)
  • Tamil Nadu – Tamil Nadu Board of Secondary Education (TNBSE)
  • Telangana – Telangana State Board of Secondary Education (TSBSE)
  • Tripura – Tripura Board Of Secondary Education (TBSE)
  • Uttar Pradesh – Uttar Pradesh Madhyamik Shiksha Parishad (UPMSP)
  • Uttarakhand – Uttarakhand Board of School Education (UBSE)
  • West Bengal – West Bengal Board of Secondary Education (WBBSE)

FAQ’s on Matriculation Certificate

Question 1.
What is a Matriculation Certificate?

A Matriculation certificate is a certificate which is awarded for after matriculation – the formal process of completing class 10 and moving on to college/ class 11 and 12.

Question 2.
What are the boards that offer matriculation certificates?

In India, students have the option to complete matriculation from one of the following boards: CBSE – Central Board of Secondary Education, IGCSE – International General Certificate of Secondary Education, CISCE – Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations or the State Boards of Respective States.

Question 3.
Can you write exams in regional languages for matriculation exams?

Most boards offer the provision to answer their science and maths papers in regional languages. However, English remains the standard language for medium of instruction in most places.

Question 4.
What are the options for a student who has acquired their matriculation certificate?

Students who have successfully cleared their class 10 exams can proceed to class 11 and eventually 12. In many state boards, the equivalent of class 11 and 12 is PUC (Pre-university degree).

Leave a Comment