Complete IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2021 | Full Details About All IPL Winners Team

Candidates who are cricket lovers and who are preparing for different competitive exams can refer to this page and get the information about the List of IPL Winners and Runners with some brief details. All Previous years IPL Winners List related facts and questions that are covered under the GA section of Govt. exams and GK General Knowledge Quizzes or bank exam or SSC exam or RRB exam, etc. are provided in this article with a neat explanation. So dive deep into the guide and have an idea on facts regarding the Indian Premier League, list of IPL Winners from 2008 to 2020, All IPL Winners Teams, and IPL Runner-Up List.

This Blog Contains:

All About Indian Premier League(IPL) & Its Winners

The Indian Premier League (IPL) begun in the year of 2008. It was started as a challenging project 11 years ago, is now deemed as the best Twenty 20 league in the world. The most successful & winning IPL team till now is Mumbai Indians, who had won the tournament four times and runner up for once. The second-highest winning team who lifted up the title of IPL is Chennai Super Kings three times.

Also Check: Cricket World Cup Winners List

As it is time for the 2021 edition of IPL, which is all set to kickstart from April 9th, 2021 in Chennai with two opening teams by Mumbai Indians and RCB. Due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, viewers are advised to enjoy the IPL matches at home in a safe environment but this is not yet decided properly by the government or BCCI. Meanwhile, if you are a new cricket lover, then take a look at the below list of IPL Winners from 2008 to 2020 and support your favourite IPL team in IPL 2021.

IPL Winners List Along with Captain Names & IPL Runner-Ups

Here is the list of IPL Winners that includes the captain name of the winning team and the name of the IPL Runner-up team from 2008 to 2020. So, Let’s have a glance at the table of IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2020.

Year IPL Winning Team Captain of Winning Team IPL Runner-up
2019 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings
2018 Chennai Super Kings M S Dhoni Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Rising Pune Supergiant
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner Royal Challengers Bangalore
2015 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir Kings XI Punjab
2013 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings M S Dhoni Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Chennai Super Kings M S Dhoni Mumbai Indians
2009 Deccan Chargers Adam Gilchrist Royal Challengers Bangalore
2008 Rajasthan Royals Shane Warne Chennai Super Kings

Also, below we have shared another list of detailed analyses on IPL Winners, Runner Up, Venue, Number of teams, Player of the Match, and Player of the Series from 2008 to 2020 for the sake of better understanding to viewers & students.

Complete Analysis on All Seasons IPL Winners & Runners

Year Winner Runner Up Venue Number of teams Player of the Match
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Dubai 8 Trent Boult
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad 8 Jasprit Bumrah
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai 8 Shane Watson
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants Hyderabad 8 Krunal Pandya
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore 8 Ben Cutting
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 8 Rohit Sharma
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Bangalore 8 Manish Pandey
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 9 Kieron Pollard
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Chennai 9 Manvinder Bisla
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai 10 Murali Vijay
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Mumbai 8 Suresh Raina
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Johhanesburg 8 Anil Kumble
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Mumbai 8 Yusuf Pathan

Important Facts on IPL (Indian Premier League)

  • This year, IPL 2021 will be the 14th edition of the league.
  • IPL is a 20–20 Cricket league held in India yearly.
  • It was organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007 which is liable for the operation and functioning of the league.
  • The first Indian Premier League Tournament was held in 2008 in India across different parts of the country.
  • The tournament is played with 8 teams viz. Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, and Kings XI Punjab.
  • At the end of the IPL tournament, cash prizes will be given to the first four teams who play in the semi-finals.

FAQs on 2008 to 2020 All Indian Premier League Winners List

1. Who are the maximum winners of IPL till now?

Mumbai Indians Team won the IPL matches maximum times till now.

2. Who is the winner of IPL 2020?

Mumbai Indians is the winning team of IPL 2020.

3. Which player won the most IPL titles?

Rohit Sharma has won the title of IPL Winner 5 times. He has won it 4 times for Mumbai Indians and one time for the Deccan Chargers.

4. When will the IPL 2021 start?

After successful completion of IPL 2020 in a pandemic, the BCCI is all set with the Indian premier league 2021 to begin in Chennai from 9th April 2021.

Leave a Comment