List of Winners of the ICC Cricket World Cup Since 1975 to 2020 | Important Facts, Sample Questions on World Cup Winners List

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Cricket is the top favourite sport for all people across the world. In cricket, there are various types of matches like test matches, 20-20 test series, one-day matches, world cup tournaments, etc. Today, we are going to discuss the Cricket world cup winners list which helps students to score high in the competitive exams.

Cricket World Cup is the major sports event conducted all over the world and it is hosted by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after an interval of every four years. It was contested for the first time in England in 1975. The Cricket World Cup tournament was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. In 1987 for the first time, it was held in India and Pakistan. Also, know complete information about the list of ICC Cricket world cup winners and runner-ups by going through this article.

Here, we furnished the list of Cricket World Cup winners (ODI + T20). Go through the below modules, and find the ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List since 1975 to 2020 with winners, runner-up, host country, total scores, and final result for One Day International (ODI).

More To Know: 

List of ICC Cricket World Cup Winners & Runner-up(1975 to 2020)

Since 1975, there are 12 world cup tournaments conducted to date. Australia is the only country that has won the 5 world cups. In 2007, Australia has become the first cricket team to win three successive world cup tournaments. After Australia, there are two countries that won the world cup twice each. They are India in 1983 & 2011 and West Indies in 1975 & 1979.

In the recent year 2019, the world cup tournament was won by the England cricket team. If you want to learn complete information about the list of cricket world cup winners and runner ups then check at the below table and collect the details for your preparation.

Cricket World Cup
Year Host Winner Score Runner-up Score Result
1975 England West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and Wales England 241 New Zealand 241–8 Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count
2023 India

Also Check: Important Dates in Indian History

ODI Cricket World Cup winners by Country-wise List

The list of One Day International (ODI) Cricket world cup winners by the country-wise is furnished below:

Team Final Appearances Winners Runners Years Won Years Runners
Australia 7 5 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 1975, 1996
England 3 0 3 1979, 1987, 1992
India 3 2 1 1983, 2011 2003
New Zealand 1 0 1 2015
Pakistan 2 1 1 1992 1999
Sri Lanka 3 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
West Indies 3 2 1 1975, 1979 1983

T20 Cricket World Cup Winners List

ICC T20 World Cup is an international cricket tournament arranged by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first tournament was played in South Africa country in 2007 and the winning team was India. If you are looking for the list of cricket world cup winners in T20 tournaments then the below table is the right one.

Year Venue Winner Runner Match Result
2007 South Africa India Pakistan India won by 5 runs
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka Pakistan won by 8 wickets
2010 West Indies England Australia England won by 7 wickets
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka West Indies won by 36 runs
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016 India West Indies England West Indies won by 4 wickets
2020 Australia
2021 India

Important Facts About ICC Cricket World Cup Finals & Winners List

Here are some crucial points related to the world cup list of winners provided for the sake of students who are appearing for the competitive exams. So, candidates must aware of these important facts before giving any competitive tests.

  • The maximum number of world cup titles for men and women tournaments are won by Australia.
  • The highest two countries that won the World cup in both 50 and 60 overs format are India and Australia.
  • Currently, a total of 12 teams is participating in several ICC Men’s tournaments. Teams included are India, Australia, England, New Zealand Pakistan, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Bangladesh, Ireland, West Indies, and Sri Lanka.
  • When it comes to women’s ICC tournaments, there is a total of 10 teams that participates. These involve Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies.
  • The only country up to now to have won the Men’s World Cup for 50 overs, 60 overs, and 20 overs is India.

Sample Questions – List of Cricket World Cup Winners

Some of the sample questions related to the ICC cricket world cup winners list across the years are provided below for quick references to candidates. These questions are simply for the candidate’s reference so remember that you all should cover the updated details about the cricket world cup winners and runners along with these sample questions.

Q 1. Which team has won the maximum number of World Cup titles to date?
Q 2. Who led the Indian cricket team in the 1983 ICC World cup?
Q 3. Which is the only team to have won all the three formats of the 20, 50 & 60 overs World Cup?
Q 4. Who was declared the Man of the Series for the 2011 Men’s World Cup?
Q 5. Under whose captaincy, England won the ICC Men’s World Cup 2019?
Q 6. When and where is the next ICC Men’s T20 world cup scheduled to be organized?
Q 7. Which team did Australia defeat in the T20 Women’s World Cup finals 2020 to win the title for the fifth time?

Candidates who are going to apply for the Government exams 2021 need to kickstart their preparation by referring to our provided GK Topics, Indian History, Sports related articles like Cricket World Cup Winners List, and many others to score high marks in the exams. For better assistance, visit our site Ncertbooks.Guru and get the updated information, textbooks, study material, and tips for preparation.

FAQs on List of World Cup Winners & Runner-Up Since 1975

1. Which countries have won the cricket World Cup twice?

India & West Indies are the only two countries which have won the world cup 2 times each. In 1983 and 2011, India won the ICC World Cup whereas West Indies won the ICC World Cup Title in 1975 and 1979.

2. Who has won the T20 World Cup the most number of times?

The team West Indies won the T20 World Cup.

3. When was the T-20 World Cup introduced?

In 2007, the first t-20 world cup was started and the title was won by the Indian Cricket team.

Leave a Comment