Difference Between Western and Eastern Ghats & Their Similarities


One of the main landmasses that are studied as one of India’s physiographic divisions is the Deccan plateau of India. India is bordered by the Eastern Ghats on its east and the Western Ghats on its west. These ghats make an actually is an important section in Geography. While the Western Ghats consist of continuous mountain ranges called Sahyadri; the Eastern Ghats consist of discontinuous mountain ranges.

You can also find differences between articles on various topics that you need to know. Just tap on the quick link available and get to know the basic differences between them.

What is the Difference Between The Western and Eastern Ghats?

About the Western Ghats

The Western Ghats which is an older mountain chain than the Himalayas mountains represents geomorphic features of immense importance with unique ecological and biophysical processes. The Indian monsoon weather pattern highly influences the site’s high montane forest ecosystems. The site of the ghat presents one of the best examples of the monsoon system on the planet, moderating the tropical climate of the region.

About the Eastern Ghats

The Eastern Ghats or Pūrva Ghat or toorpu kanumalu or Kizhakku thodarchi malaigal, are a discontinuous range of mountains along India’s eastern coast and also known as Mahendra Parvatam in the south.

The Eastern Ghats run from the northern part of Odisha through Andhra Pradesh to Tamil Nadu in the south part of India passing some parts of Karnataka. They are eroded and cut through by the four major rivers of peninsular India, known as the Krishna, Kaveri, Godavari and Mahanadi.

Difference Between The Western and Eastern Ghats

Area Of Differentiation: The Western Ghat The Eastern Ghats
Location: The Western Ghats as its name runs parallel to the western coast of India. The ghat that runs parallel to the eastern coastal plains of India is called the eastern ghats.
Nature: It is very difficult to pass through these ghats as they are mostly continuous without any major breaks. Unlike the Ghats of the West, they are mostly discontinuous in nature and is dissected by the various rivers that drain into the Bay of Bengal.
Facts: Sahyadri in certain parts of India also known as the Western Ghats. Most of these rivers have their origin in the western ghats.
Height of Elevation of Ghats: The western ghats are higher in elevation than the eastern ghats. The eastern ghats are actually lower in elevation than the western ghats.

Similarities Between Western and Eastern Ghats

  • Running parallel to the western coast of India in a north-south direction is the Western Ghats.
  • The Ghat that runs in a north-east to south-west direction which is parallel to the eastern coast is called the Eastern Ghats.
  • The Western And Eastern Ghats both lies near to the cost.
  • The Eastern and Western Ghats both lies in the southern part of India.
  • The Western And Eastern Ghatsboth are physical features of India.

FAQs on Difference Between The Western And Eastern Ghats

What connects the Eastern Ghats and the Western Ghats?

The Biligiriranga Hills, form a forested ecological corridor which run east from the Western Ghats to the River Kaveri, the connector of the Eastern and Western Ghats.

What is the other name of Western Ghats?

The Western Ghats, also known as the Sahyadri, hills that mark the western edge of the Deccan plateau region or are a north-south chain of mountains.

Which states have the Western Ghats?

The Western Ghats is one of the eight hotspots which is spread across six states of biological diversity in the world —Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Maharashtra, Goa and Karnataka.

Leave a Comment