Bharat Ratna: 9 Indian Educationists who won the award

1. Madan Mohan Malaviya (1919-1946): Founder of Banaras Hindu University (BHU) and a prominent figure in the Indian National Congress.

2. Zakir Hussain (1897-1969): Third President of India, renowned scholar, and educational reformer. He established Jamia Millia Islamia and actively promoted interfaith dialogue through education.

3. Dadasaheb Phalke (1870-1944): Father of Indian cinema, his dedication to documenting India's cultural heritage through film significantly impacted education and cultural awareness.

4. Bhagwan Das (1869-1958): A social reformer and educator, he co-founded the Kashi Vidyapith (now Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith) and played a key role in the establishment of Banaras Hindu University.

5. C.N.R. Rao (born 1936): A chemist and scientific advisor to several Indian Prime Ministers, he is known for his contributions to solid-state and materials chemistry.

6. Verghese Kurien (1921-2012): The "Father of the White Revolution" in India, he revolutionized milk production and distribution through the Amul cooperative movement.

7. Amartya Sen (born 1933): An economist and philosopher, he is known for his work on poverty, inequality, and human development. He has been a vocal advocate for education as a key driver of social progress.

8. Mother Teresa (1910-1997): A Catholic nun and founder of the Missionaries of Charity, she dedicated her life to serving the poor and marginalized.

These individuals, through their diverse contributions, have made a significant impact on the Indian education landscape, earning them the prestigious Bharat Ratna award.